• Home
  • The Complete Country Dance Tunes (Instrumental Solo)

The Complete Country Dance Tunes (Instrumental Solo)

Thumbnail 240

The Complete Country Dance Tunes from Playford's The Dancing Master is the classic compendium of English country dance tunes. First published in 1651 it went through eighteen editions in almost 80 years. In its day it was the most popular collection of its kind and engendered numerous imitations. The tunes selected by Playford and his successors were taken from many sources and demonstrate the extraordinary richness and vitality of popular melody in England during the late 17th and early 18th centuries.

This book brings together, for the first time under one cover, 535 tunes and their variants from the eighteen original editions. It provides a fund of musical material for performers, whether folk musicians or baroque instrumentalists, and for class and instrumental music teachers. It is also an invaluable reference book for anyone interested in the history of English music.

Publisher: Faber Music

ISBN: 0571507239

Item Code: 0571507239

Price: £16.99
Availability:In stock Territory restrictions apply, see Add. Info

Genre(s): Country, Folk

Language: English

Territories: Item available Worldwide

  • Treble Clef Instruments
  • Flute
  • Recorder
  • Oboe
  • Violin
  1. A La Mode De France
  2. Adson's Saraband
  3. All In A Garden Green
  4. Aye Me
  5. Blue Cap
  6. Boatman
  7. Bobbing Joe
  8. Broom, Broom, The Bonny, Bonny Broom
  9. Cast A Bell
  10. Cheerily And Merrily
  11. Chestnut
  12. Confess His Tune
  13. Cuckolds All A Row
  14. Dull Sir John
  15. The Bath
  16. The Beggar Boy
  17. The Chirping Of The Lark
  18. The Country Coll
  19. The Wedding Night